9/11/01

 

I was working at the cable company, surrounded by televisions. Everyone was leaving the building. I stayed and waited for more people to arrive for work; I didn’t believe the media coverage of what had happened.  It was all so incomprehensible to me, a “War of the Worlds” kind of hoax. A few people with loved ones stuck in the city were crying. The next day a bunch of us got together and l went to church, a bunch of people of varying denominations went to a local Catholic church to pray. (My dad always told us there were no atheists in a fox hole, this would be the day that I understood him). It wasn’t until the third night after the attack that the smell started to drift to the local harbor.

People held open the doors for strangers entering the grocery store. People made eye contact.  I didn’t talk to my mother for four days, knowing she would upset me with her political views. When I did finally call her she said “That’s OK, don’t worry about me!” A co-workers’ father worked at a flag manufacturer, she brought in a bunch of flags and handed them out.

We visited our oldest daughter, who had left for her first year of college just weeks before.  There was a big sign in one dorm window that said “Pray Pray Pray” in stadium sized letters.

No strong conclusion here folks, just a little flashback, which gets smaller  every year. Always Remember.

 

