How Walking Dead zombie noises got me thinking about adoption – introducing a new category!

Me in the adoption Rubix Cube-more sides than meets the eye!.

Me in the adoption Rubix Cube-more sides than meets the eye!.

I haven’t seen Hubbie as excited about television since the 1997 Cleveland Indians made it to the World Series. I’m talking about zombies of course, and specifically the zombie world of Walking Dead.  This is one really great show that I don’t watch. I LISTEN.  I listen like one listens to A Prairie Home Companion, or, for my more mature audience members, The Shadow. Our local diner has “Walking Dead Viewing Parties.”  No other activity has coexisted with diner- dining like this in the history of Jersey dining. And Jersey Diners are a pretty big thing. I never went to of these parties because again, I don’t like to watch.

I know Zombies aren’t real. I know they have good senses of humor, and often have a good story underneath their ghoulish exteriors and less than Martha Stewart-like table manners.

Speaking of table manners, I can barely tolerate the soundtrack when the (I presume, again, I don’t watch) munching is going on.  The series original music, artfully provided by Bear McCreary, creates the perfect backdrop for my non-watching.

What I really came here to tell you today was this: When that baby was born, even though I wasn’t watching, I had to leave the room.  The reasons were not crystal clear at first, even to me.

***

I’ve talked about it a bit, but now I want to talk about it a bit more, say a few things about my ever evolving (or at least, changing) experience and give a shout out to a few of my favorite related blogs.  When I first read Momnopolize, I had just started this blog. When I read the post about her adoption papers, I felt oddly connected to this writer. Two other blogs, Menomama3 and Don’t We Look Alike, were instrumental in inspiring me to create the adoption category I’m starting today.  These women write with passion care and skill, why not stop by?

***

The triangle is often used as a symbol for adoption, shown as uniting, or at least defining birth parents, the adoptive parents and the adoptee. This symbol adorns blogs, jewelry and tattoo art.  I would like to suggest the Rubix Cube become a symbol– to suggest that there are even more than three sides to explore. More on this later!

What has this to do with zombies?  Only that the passion I heard from the Walking Dead birth episode reminded me of my own adoptive mom’s passion to love me exclusively, no thinking about biology allowed! That is exactly how listening to an image-free zombie movie feels.  Something is missing, but it might not be enough to make me look.

